LGFA National Master Plan


Clare Post Primary Schools Competition Preview


The fixtures for the Ladies Football Secondary Schools competition were announced last week with some very interesting games in prospect in both Senior and Junior competitions. This year will see eight schools fielding in the Senior (u20yrs) while 12 teams compete in the Junior grade (u16.5yrs). 

Senior (A, B & C) 
In the Senior A decider St Flannans, who have competed in Senior A of Munster schools for the last couple of years, await the winners of Senior B competition in Clare.  

The Johnny Hayes (Senior B) Perpetual Cup has thrown up two exciting semi-finals: 
1.St. Michaels CC Kilmihil (last year’s Senior C winners) V St. Joseph CC Kilkee (last year’s Senior B runners up).  
2.Scoil Mhuire, Ennistymon (last year’s Senior B champions) V St. Joseph’s Spanish Point (last year’s Senior C runners up).
Spanish Point start as favourites as they emerged as group winners when the same four teams competed in Munster this autumn, however not all fixtures were completed in that group - including the semi-final pairings above.

The Tina O’Gorman (Senior C) Perpetual Cup sees three teams play off for the title:  St. John Bosco CC Kildysart, Rice College Ennis and Colaiste Muire Ennis. This grade should also be very competitive: Kildysart had a good campaign in Munster D, reaching the Quarter Finals, whereas Colaiste reached the semi-final of the Munster D Plate. Rice College despite not entering a senior team for a few years are a threat too with a number of recognized names in their ranks. 

Junior (A, B, C)
The Joe Meaney (Junior A) Perpetual Cup sees a repeat of last year’s semi-final pairings:
1.St Flannans College (last year’s Junior A runners-up) V Scoil Mhuire Ennistymon (last year’s Junior B winners).
2.St. Joseph’s CC Kilkee (last year’s Junior A winners) V Colaiste Muire, Ennis (last years B runners up).
These four teams should know each other very well now having played last year ‘s semifinals and in this autumn’s Munster Junior B group stage, where Flannans topped the group followed by Colaiste, Kilkee and Ennistymon respectively.  Flannans start favourites to win their 4th title in five years after Kilkee beat them in last year’s decider.

The Johnson (Junior B) Perpetual Cup is a difficult competition to predict:
1.St. John Bosco CC Kildysart (Junior C semi finalists last year) V St Joseph’s Spanish Point (last year’s Junior C winners).
2.Kilrush Community School V Rice College, Ennis.
A close game is expected between Rice College and Kilrush, both teams lost to Hazelwood (in the semi-final and quarter final respectively) in Munster Junior D competition recently. Spanish Point should shade a close game with Kildysart based on recent form and a run to the Munster Junior D Plate

The Clare Ladies Football (Junior C) Perpetual Cup has paired:
1.St. Michael’s Kilmihil (runners up last year) V St. Caimins, Shannon
2.Colaiste Muire, Ennis V Gaelcolaiste, Ennis Community College.
Kilmihil may be favourites but face a tricky game with Caimins first while neighbours Gaelcolaiste and Colaiste’s second Junior team will play for the other final place.