LGFA National Master Plan


Clare U14B V Tipperary 2015

Clare Versus Tipperary U14B Munster Championship - Round 2

Clare ‘s ladies football under 14s hosted Tipperary last Sunday in Cooraclare in the second round of the Munster Championship. The Clare ladies had defeated Limerick in the first round and were now looking forward to a spirited encounter that would mean a Munster B Final if successful.

Clare were living dangerously from the outset as Tipp came off the woodwork twice in the opening quarter. After fifteen minutes, some good defensive play from the Clare defence Aine Killeen, Gail Norton and Ciara Malone eventually leaked a goal and two points followed in quick succession. Despite good ball carrying from the half back line Siofra Ni Conaill, Alanah McInerney and Siobhan McMahon out to the tireless midfield section of Ellie Rochford and Aislinn Reidy, Clare didn’t manage to convert up front. After a Niamh O’Keeffe lobbed ball narrowly missed the net, continued pressure yielded a point from a Megan Brennan free and Aislin Reidy almost goaled before she pointed shortly after (Clare 0-2 to Tipperary’s 1-2). With minutes to go before the half-time whistle, Clare were getting a handle on the game but then Tipperary struck with a goal and point to dampen the Clare attack and when Maurice Mulcahy (Middleton) called for the ball, the score was Clare 0-2 Tipperary 2-3.

The visitors began the second half in earnest and despite a Gail Norton goal stopper in the opening minute, the Clare girls had no answer to the Tipperary storm in the third quarter when they notched up another 3-1 to their tally. It seemed Clare had enough when a determined Banner County attack was launched and sustained for the remainder of the game. When Niamh O’Keeffe was brought down for a penalty which was subsequently missed, she was back again to win a second penalty and Meg Brennan tucked itaway with gusto to bring the score to 1-3 against Tipp’s 6-4, still a mountain to climb. Clare were denied another sure goal when goalkeeper Rachel Sweeny palmed it over the bar. The full forward line of Amy Sexton, Abaigeal Drummy and Mikayla Kelleher were all involved in this Saffron and Blue wave of pressure. It was all Clare now as Niamk O’Keeffe and Ellie Rochford pointed (1-4 in eight minutes for the Clare girls). A determined Tipperary were not risking the large margin and attacked but were denied by an Amy Lenihan save. They finished with two further points but the defiant Clare team’s last action yielded a Meg Brennan goal bringing the final score to 3-6 to 6-6 in fvour of Tipperary.

Clare started this game well but seemed rattled by the pre-half time Tipperary attack. They showed great character in weathering the Tipperary onslaught of the third quarter and returning to own the last quarter.      


1 Amy lenihan (Doora barefield),2 Aine Killeen (Doonbeg), 3 Gail Norton (Doora barefield), 4 Ciara Malone (Miltown), 5 Siofra Ni Chonaill (Doora barefield), 6 Alannah McInerney (Eire Og), 7 Siobhan McMahon (Banner Ladies), 8 Aisling Reidy (Doora barefield), 9 Ellie Rochford (Clooney Quin), 10 Aisling Hannon (Doora barefield), 11 Niamh O’Keeffe Doora barefield), 12 Meg Brennan (Liscannor),
13 Amy Sexton (Kilmurry lbricken), 14 Abaigeal Drummy (Kilrush), 15 Mikayla Kelleher (Kilrush), 16 Emily Williams (Kilrush), 17 Leanne O’Brien (Kilrush), 18 Anna Nagle (Doora barefield), 19 Aoife Stankard (Crusheen), 20 Maeve O’Connor (Doora barefield), 21 Chloe Towey (Doora barefield), 22 Ruth Ferguson (West Clare Gaels), 23 Aine Talty (Miltown), 24 Orla Considine (Liscannor), 25 Anne Marie Meenaghan (Banner Ladies), 26 Grainne Meade (Miltown), 27 Sally King (Burren Gaels), 28 Anna Linneen (Miltown), 29 Rachel Normoyle (Kilmihil), 30 Cliodhne Dennehy (Kilmihil). 

Management: Gordon Drummy (Kilrush), Linda Kelleher (Kilrush), Shay Norton (Doora barefield), Dr.Paul Mckenna (Wolfe Tones), Ciara Dennehy (Kilmihil).